• Черный Facebook Иконка
  • Черный значок YouTube
  • Черный Instagram Иконка
  • Vkontakte - черный круг

GHOST EXPEDITION

Overcoming duality

The classical Orientalist opposition of the ‘rational and mechanistic’ West and the ‘irrational and natural’ East is the Ghost Expedition’s key object of research. Paradoxically, it conducted not so much with the help of the post-colonial discourse of dominance and suppression / resistance that has become quite traditional for this problem, but rather using a range of metaphysical tools. Identifying the strategic objective of the project as ‘breaking through the social layers to the starting point of being to establish communication with the primeval consciousness,’ the artists seem to oppose both the criticism of primordialist ideas from the standpoint of social constructivism and the classical materialism that limits the existence of consciousness to humanity.

However, everything turns out to be much more complicated. Quite in the spirit of ethnographic studies of mythology, that can be traced back to Fraser’s Golden Bow, the participants in the project travel to spaces labelled sacred in traditional Kazakh culture, and this is where the paradox arises. Instead of a ritual-anthropocentric intervention that would be quite expected from contemporary artists of the previous generation, the participants of Ghost Expedition appropriate the qualities of these spaces for their laboratory studies conducted with an eye to object-oriented ontologies and the artistic practices derived from them. Whether it is a sand dune song, shell rock, sand whirlwind, or imprint of the world accessed through a camera obscura, computer camera or supersensitive microphones, the artists do not simply reproduce or document the hidden meanings behind the threshold of the mineral elements. They strive to identify certain tones and vibrations in the background noise of the world and to transform them into observable phenomena that have their own meaning, their being in the world of myth and the world of pure values.

Interpreting this transformation with the help of esoteric, or rather, anthroposophical lens, one can observe how colonial binary oppositions of the natural and mechanistic, ‘soil’ and ‘technology’, as well as matter and consciousness are removed in the project by referring to what Rudolf Steiner called the  Ahrimanic force consolidating matter and reason. Investigating the sacred space and its material components in their laboratories, the artists allow the spiritual forces of crystallization to come forth and express themselves. The practices of shamanism give way here to a hybrid of mediumism and the theory of supersymmetry, in which creatures are transformed into substances, and substances into radiation — and vice versa. Sand becomes a whirlwind, the whirlwind becomes a sound, and the sound becomes the experience through which it is the viewer who is already speaking: talking to the artist, and maybe to the spirits of the place, to Gaia, or to the whole Universe.  

 

text

Alexey Ulko   

curator

Anvar Musrepov

Grzegorz Demczuk

Untitled 

installation

In one of the spaces I symmetrically assembled two ceiling fans, facing each other, on the ceiling and floor. They spin in reverse directions, reminiscent of a mechanical dance. Their visual form, as well as the sound produced by them, appropriates and dynamizes the space, intensifying the circulation of air and energy. The installation is accompanied by a video in which I fight real wind in the desert. This juxtaposition suggests that air from the fans can affect the person on the screen. The reconstructed "environment" is illuminated by constant, artificial lighting from behind the window. In front of the space, a video performance is displayed in which I spin around in a humorous reference to human inefficiency towards machines and the forces of nature.
 

Grzegorz Demczuk

Hairdryer

videoperformance

Arman Sein

Phantom Resonance

soundinstallation

In the halidoms of Mangistau I used camerton with lab accuracy in order to find the perfect surface to resonate with transcendental frequencies. Most of these places are already gradually turning into the ordinary touristic locations, but behind this external cover Mangistau earth will always keep its energy in form of rocks, caves and sands. The result is embodied in the magic circle, a ceremonial portal into otherworldly frequencies of the sacred lands.

Nazira Karimova

Qyrqy

photoinstallation

Since early childhood, which I spent in Dushanbe, I associated the number 40 with rituals. 40 days after birth, 40 days after death, 40 steps of purification in the necropolis of Shahi Zinda in Samarkand. For this work, I have assembled a handmade analog pinhole camera that uses the camera obscura technology mentioned in arab sources and works of Alhazem of the X century. I use photography not as a tool for documenting, but as a magic device, the purpose of which is to fix the subtlety of the place, trying to catch the spirits living in the necropolises of the Mangystau region. I turn to a simple basic form — a line, a point starting from the earth and going up into the sky.

Gregor Vogel

Rocks and hard places

video, installation

For Rocks and hard places artist Gregor Vogel concerned with the singing dune in Altyn Emel national park, a renown natural monument and geological phenomenon. Famous for emitting sounds during dry weather similar to the tune of an organ, the dune has been the cause of superstitions from ancient times. Mostly focussing on his feet – the main point of interaction between humans and their surroundings – the video that is part of the work shows the artist’s effort to climb the dune and experience its singing. By turning the provided hourglass filled with sand from the singing dune, visitors get a chance to repeat the endeavours depicted in the video on a domesticated scale.

Marek Mardosewicz

 

You need to take picture to read it

video (0:06)

You need to take picture to read it is a blinking poem written during the Ghost Expedition. The text and meaning can be revealed only if you are willing to take part in the play. Just take a photo of text at the correct time and read it afterwards. Just take a screenshot.  

Mirror

video (4:02)

Mirror is a camera performance with usage of eye tracker. I use computer camera as a mirror. I'm examining my body after the project – how I look and how I've changed. Follow my eyes and see what I see.

See what I saw

video (2:46)

See what i saw is a collage video of what I have witnessed and experienced during the Ghost Expedition. I invite you to see what I saw.

Series of three videos show different approaches towards presence and way to perceive, to experience and to see.

Anvar Musrepov

Untitled

installation

Shell rock is a stone mined in the Mangistau region, as a memory of the ancient ocean left these places. The object of the artist's hands symbolizing blessing, hands framing the void as a repeating pattern, Mangistau region's sign. The land where 360 Sufis are buried. Water collected from Beket-Ata source, underground mosque, one of the central places of pilgrimage in Kazakhstan.

gallery TSE Art Destination

supported by European Union

• Черный Facebook Иконка
  • Черный значок YouTube
  • Черный Instagram Иконка
  • Vkontakte - черный круг

GHOST EXPEDITION

Преодоление двойственности

Классическая ориенталистская оппозиция «рационального и механистического» Запада и «иррациональному и природному» Востоку является ключевым объектом исследования в проекте Ghost Expedition. Парадоксальным образом, оно ведется не с помощью традиционного для данной проблематики пост-колониального дискурса доминирования и подавления / сопротивления, а при помощи ряда метафизических инструментов.  Обозначив стратегической задачей проекта «прорыв сквозь социальные слои к исходной точке бытия для сообщения с первородным сознанием», авторы, казалось бы, решительно порывают как с критикой примордиалистких представлений с позиций социального конструктивизма, так и с классическим материализмом, ограничивающим существование сознания человечеством. 

Однако, все оказывается значительно сложнее. Вполне в духе этнографических исследований мифологии, берущих свое начало еще в «Золотой ветви» Фрезера, участники проекта отправляются в пространства, маркированные в традиционной казахской культуре как сакральные, но далее возникает указанный парадокс. Вместо вполне ожидаемой, по примеру современных художников прошлого поколения, ритуально-антропоцентрической интервенции, участники Ghost Expedition апроприируют свойства этих пространств уже для своих лабораторных исследований, проводимых с оглядкой на разработки объектно-ориентированных онтологий и производных от них художественных практик. Будь то песнь бархана, ракушечник, песчаный вихрь, отпечаток мира сквозь камеру обскуру, компьютерную камеру или сверхчувствительные микрофоны, участники проекта не просто воспроизводят или документируют скрытые смыслы, стоящие за порогом минерального. Они стремятся выделить в интершуме мира определенные тоны и вибрации, и преобразовать их в доступные наблюдению феномены, обладающие уже своим значением, своим бытием в мире мифа и в мире чистых значений. 

Интерпретируя эту трансформацию при помощи эзотерической, а точнее, антропософской оптики, можно наблюдать как колониальные бинарные оппозиции природного и механистического, «почвы» и «техники», а также материи и сознания снимаются в проекте за счет обращения к тому, что Рудольф Штейнер называл «ариманическим» началом, консолидирующим материю и рассудок. Исследуя сакральное пространство и его материальную составляющую в своих лабораториях, авторы позволяют духовным силам кристаллизации проявить себя. Практики шаманизма уступают здесь место гибриду медиумизма и теории суперсимметрии, в которых существа преобразуются в вещества, а те – в излучение – и обратно. Песок становится вихрем, вихрь – звуком, а звук – переживанием, при помощи которого говорит уже зритель: с художником, а может, с духами места, с Геей, а может быть, и со всей Вселенной.   

текст

Алексей Улько

куратор

Анвар Мусрепов

Grzegorz Demczuk

Untitled 

инсталляция

В одном из пространств я симметрично собрал два потолочных вентилятора, установив их противопложно друг к другу: на потолок и на пол. Они вращаются в разных направлениях, напоминающие механический танец. Их визуальная форма и  производимый ими звук присваивает себе и динамизирует пространство, усиливая циркуляцию воздуха и энергии. Инсталляция сопровождается видео, в котором я сражаюсь с настоящим ветром в пустыне. Это сопоставление предполагает, что воздух от вентиляторов мог оказать влияние так же и на человека на экране. Реконструированная "среда" освещается постоянным искусственным светом из окна. Перед пространством отображается видеоперформанс, в котором я вращаюсь в юмористической отсылке на человеческую неэффективность по отношению к машинам и силам природы. 

Grzegorz Demczuk

Hairdryer

видеоперформанс

Arman Sein

Phantom Resonance

аудиоинсталляция

В святынях Мангистау я с лабораторной аккуратностью использовал камертон в попытках найти идеальную поверхность для резонанса с трансцендентальными частотами. Многие из таких мест уже постепенно превращаются в обыкновенные туристические локации, но за этой внешней оболочкой свою особую энергию всегда будет хранить мангистауская земля: скалы, пещеры и песок. Результат поисков воплощен в магическом круге, церемониальном портале в потусторонние частоты священной земли.

Nazira Karimova

Qyrqy

фотоинсталляция

С раннего детства, которое я провела в Душанбе, число 40 всегда ассоциировалось у меня с ритуалами. 40 дней после рождения, 40 дней после смерти, 40 ступеней очищения в некрополе Шахи-Зинда в Самарканде. Для этой работы я собрала самодельную аналоговую камеру пинхол, которая использует технологию камеры обскура, упоминаемую в арабских источниках и работах Альхазема X века. Я использую фотографию не как инструмент для документирования, а как магический прибор, цель которого зафиксировать субтильность места, попытаться уловить духов, обитающих в некрополях мангистауского региона. Я обращаюсь к простой базовой форме - линии, точке начинающейся с земли и уходящей в небо.

Gregor Vogel

Rocks and hard places

Видео, инсталляция

Для “Rocks and hard places” художник Грегор Фогель заинтересовался поющими барханами в национальном заповеднике Алтын-Эмель, который является известным природным памятником и геологическим явлением. Знаменитый своими звуками в сухую погоду, которые похожи на мелодию органа, бархан издревле был причиной суеверий.

В основном фокусируясь на ногах – главной точке взаимодействия между людьми и их окружением – видео, которое является частью работы, показывает усилия художника подняться на бархан и испытать его пение. Переворачивая предоставленные песочные часы, наполненные песком из поющей дюны, посетители получают возможность повторить начинания, изображенные на видео, в одомашненном масштабе.

Marek Mardosewicz

 

You need to take picture to read it

видео (0:06)

Вам нужно сделать фото, чтобы прочитать это мигающее стихотворение, написанное во время нашей экспедиции в Мангыстау.

Текст и смысл можно раскрыть только в том случае, если вы готовы принять участие в спектакле. Просто сфотографируйте текст в нужное время и прочитайте его позже. Просто сделайте скриншот.

Mirror

видео (4:02)

Mirror - это видео-перформанс с использованием еye tracker. Я использую компьютерную камеру как

зеркало. Я изучаю свое тело после проекта - как я выгляжу и как я изменился. Следуйте за моими глазами и увидьте то, что вижу я.

See what I saw

видео (2:46)

Посмотрите, что я видел, - это коллажное видео того, что я видел и испытал во время нашей экспедиции на Мангыстау. Я приглашаю вас посмотреть, что я видел.

 

Серия из трех видеороликов показывает различные подходы к присутствию и способу восприятия, чтобы

испытать и увидеть.

Anvar Musrepov

Untitled

инсталляция

Ракушечник - камень добываемый в мангистауской области, как память о древнем океане покинувшем эти места. Отпечаток рук художника в форме, символизирующей благословение, руки обрамляющие пустоту как повторяющийся паттерн, знак мангистауского региона. Земли, где захоронены 360 суфиев. Вода, набранная из источника Бекет-Ата, подземной мечети, одного из центральных мест паломничества в Казахстане.

галерея TSE Art Destination

при поддержке Европейского Союза